Cricket India New Zealand WTC final 2021 follow on rule | – Cricbuzz – Cricbuzz

The International Cricket Council (ICC) has clarified that the follow-on rule will not change if play is washed out on Day One of the World Test Championship (WTC) final, which would have normally in other Test matches. This clarification comes in view of the extra day added to the WTC final, to be played between India and New Zealand from June 18-23 in Southamption, England.

The normal follow-on rules in the ICC playing conditions (clause 14) state: “14.1.1: The side which bats first and leads by at least 200 runs shall have the option of requiring the other side to follow their innings. 14.1.2 The same option shall be available in matches of shorter duration with the minimum leads as follows: – 150 runs in a match of 3 or 4 days; – 100 runs in a 2-day match; – 75 runs in a 1-day match.”

Further clause 14.3 states: “If no play takes place on the first and second days of the match, clause 14.1 shall apply in accordance with the number of days remaining (including the scheduled Reserve Day) from the start of play. The day on which play first commences shall count as a whole day for this purpose, irrespective of the time at which play starts. Play will have taken place as soon as, after the call of Play, the first over has started.”

However, in its communication to the two participating teams recently, the ICC has said, “Clause 14.3 has been amended so that the first innings lead of at least 200 runs will only change to 150 runs if no play takes place on the first and second scheduled days of the match. Normally this will occur if only the first day’s play is lost, but with the provision of a reserve day, it remains a 5-day match even if the first day is lost.” Cricbuzz is in possession of it.

The ICC has also elaborated on player review which it has briefly mentioned in its media release on May 27. “Player Review – this is a new standard playing condition. Previously the playing conditions prevented a player from asking the umpire any questions before launching a review which led to the unreasonable loss of a review when the player and umpire had a different opinion on whether a shot had been played. This has been changed to allow either the fielding captain or the dismissed batter to ask the umpire whether a genuine attempt has been made to play the ball prior to deciding whether to initiate a player review,” the ICC noted.

You may also like