Telangana Bypoll Results 2021: YSR Congress Gets Thumping Majority – News18

The ruling YSR Congress on Sunday secured a thumping victory in the by-election to the Tirupati (SC) Lok Sabha constituency, trouncing the main opposition Telugu Desam Party by a record margin of over 2.70 lakh votes. A political novice, YSRCs M Gurumoorthy defeated former Union Minister of State Panabaka Lakshmi of the TDP by a margin of over 14 per cent votes.

It was virtually a no-show for the BJP, which had high hopes of reclaiming the seat, though its nominee K Ratna Prabha, a retired IAS officer, managed to get 5.16 per cent of the votes. She had to forfeit her deposit.

It was a consolation for the BJP that it improved its vote-share from a mere 1.22 per cent in 2019, this time though in alliance with the Jana Sena Party. The YSRC, however, failed to reach its target victory margin of five lakh votes and had to be content with less than three lakh. But, it increased its vote-share from 55.

03 per cent in 2019 to over 56.7 per cent now. The TDPs vote-share dipped from 37.65 per cent to just over 32 per cent.

The Congress Chinta Mohan, a former Union Minister of State, could not get even 10,000 votes as the party lost more than one per cent share this time. By-election for the Tirupati Lok Sabha seat was held on April 17 following the death of sitting MP Balli Durga Prasad Rao due to Covid-19.

TRS Triumphs in Byelection to Nagarjuna Sagar

The ruling TRS has retained Nagarjuna Sagar Assembly segment by winning majority of over 18,000 votes in the bypoll held on April 17. The counting of votes was taken up on Sunday.

TRS candidate Nomula Bhagat polled 89,804 while his nearest Congress rival K Jana Reddy got 70,932 votes. BJP lost the deposit.

The bypoll was necessitated due to the death of sitting TRS legislator Nomula Narsimhaiah in December last. Chief Minister K Chandrashekhar Rao, fondly addressed as KCR, thanked the people in Nagarjuna Sagar Legislative Assembly constituency for electing TRS candidate, an official press release said.

As per the partys policy, the promises made during the electioneering would be fulfilled, the release said quoting KCR. The TRS, despite theunexpected jolt in the previously held Dubbak bypoll and Hyderabad civic polls, again established itself as a formidable force in Telangana with the much-needed win.

BJP, which had put up an impressive performance in the Greater Hyderabad Municipal Corporation and Dubbak bypoll, failed to make its presence felt in the bypoll. The party candidate P Ravi Kumarmustered 20,236 votes (10.6 per cent). Congress’ Jana Reddy, who had served as Leader of Opposition in the previous Legislative Assembly, lost from the same constituency in the 2018 Assembly polls.

You may also like